CAHNRS Honors go to top students, emerging leaders

Stubbs and Ikueze
Twin Cashup Davis award winners- Lauren Stubbs, winner of the 2024 Davis Merit Award in Ag and Natural Resource Sciences, and Joseph Oziomachukwu Ikueze, recipient of the Cashup Davis Merit in Human Sciences Award.

The best and brightest scholars in the College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences shone Thursday, April 4, 2024, during the CAHNRS Honors awards ceremony.

More than 50 award nominees joined parents, friends, faculty, and scholarship donors for the annual night of recognition, held at Ensminger Pavilion in Pullman. Emcees and CAHNRS Student Ambassadors Kyle Booey and José Perez-Olmos introduced the nominees and presented award plaques and tassels.

“The CAHNRS Student Awards celebrate students’ success and encourage their continued efforts,” said Booey. “I want to commend all nominees for the awards. Being nominated is a great achievement, and you should all be proud of this accomplishment.”
Award winners include:

Cashup Davis Merit Awards
The two Cashup Davis Awards, named for Palouse pioneer and innovator James S. “Cashup” Davis, honor outstanding CAHNRS undergraduates who demonstrate balance between academic achievements, leadership, extracurricular activities, and engagement with communities locally and at WSU.

Cashup Davis Merit in Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences Award
Winner: Lauren Stubbs. Nominees: Natalie Camerino, Blake Cochran, Leyla Gonzales, Raechel Holbrook, Callie Kuykendall, Sophie LeBard, Della Paloy, Steven Verver, Kalista Wales.

Cashup Davis Merit in Human Sciences Award
Winner: Joseph Oziomachukwu Ikueze. Nominees: Thadeus Altiok, Natalie Bartels, Sydney Ferari-Zimmerman, Johnathan Simonson, Kassandra Vogel.

Kraabel and Booey
Nicholas Kraabel smiles after accepting his Graduating Human Sciences Research Award from emcee and CAHNRS Ambassador Kyle Booey.

Graduating Research Awards
The two Graduating Research Awards go to students in ag and natural resource sciences or human science programs who show exceptional progression toward publishing and presenting research during their time as undergraduates.

Graduating Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences Research Award
Winner: Skyler Allison. Nominees: Shauna Flores, Lauren Stubbs, Kalista Wales.

Graduating Human Sciences Research Award
Winner: Nicholas Kraabel. Nominess: Kirten Brewer, Isabella Santiago.

Emerging Leader Awards
The three Emerging Leader awards recognize outstanding second year or above, and/or transfer, undergraduate students in CAHNRS programs who display a balance between academic achievements, leadership, and activities.

Emerging Leader in Agricultural Sciences
Winner: Rachel Yee. Nominees: Brooklyn Bailey, Kimberly Baxley, Natalie Camerino, Samantha Gambonini, Ilana McGrath, Steven Verver.

Emerging Leader in Human Sciences
Winner: Gabriela Servin. Nominees: Ashley Dickerson, Kimbrely Hussey.

Molly Walker award
Molly Walker accepts the Emerging Leader in Natural Resource Sciences award from host José Perez-Olmos.

Emerging Leader in Natural Resource Sciences
Winner: Molly Walker.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (Undergraduate)
This award recognizes CAHNRS student leaders who build inclusive spaces for minoritized groups within the college and the community.

Winner: Diana Luis-Contreras. Nominees: Madeline Badillo, Leyla Gonzalez, Hallie Simpson.

Superior Club Award
This award honors clubs carrying out activities that benefit their members academically and socially.

Winner: Food Science Club. Nominee: Students for Cultivating Change

Autumn Decker and Kyle Booey
Autumn Decker receives her Graduate Leadership Award from CAHNRS Honors emcee Kyle Booey.

Graduate Leadership Award
This award honors CAHNRS graduate students demonstrating leadership that positively impacted their unit, college, campus, or wider community. These scholars make significant positive contributions to their programs, initiatives, and organizations.

Winner: Autumn Decker. Nominees: Redwan Ahmad Khan, Guilia Berzoni Costa Leite, Martin Churuvija, Gagandeep Kaur, Yuan Su.

Outstanding seniors
Rebekah Bestebruer, Sandra Crook, Andrew Davila, Isabel de La Combe, Sydney Ferari-Zimmerman, Jared Grace, Sam Hardesty, Dawson Hunt, Spencer Jameson, Nicholas Kraabel, Callie Kuykendall, Sophie LeBard, Amanda Moed, Jay’Niya Myers, Joseph Oziomachukwu Ikueze, Della Paloy, Hana Reinhardt, Isabella Santiago, Johnathan Simonson, Hallie Simpson, Lauren Stubbs, Teresa Venegas Esquibel, Kassandra Vogel.

View a photo album of the 2024 CAHNRS Honors Student Awards on the college’s Flickr site.

Club winners
Top club winners: Emcee José Perez-Olmos, with Food Science Club members Steven Verver, Hallie Simpson, and Natalie Camerino.