Congratulations to 2021 CAHNRS Honors student award winners

CAHNRS logoMore than 50 outstanding student leaders were honored April 29 during the 2021 CAHNRS Honors celebration, held virtually by video.

CAHNRS Honors is an annual awards ceremony recognizing exceptional students in the WSU College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences. Student emcees Luuvan Hoang and Alexya Sandmann hosted the video presentation, which can be viewed on YouTube.

“A big congratulation to anyone nominated for these awards,” said Sandmann.

“Being nominated is a great achievement and is something to be really proud of,” added Hoang.

CAHNRS Honors virtual presenters
CAHNRS students Luuvan Hoang and Alexya Sandmann virtually host the 2021 CAHNS Honors celebration, noting more than 50 award winners. “CAHNRS is very proud to have you all as students,” said Hoang.

“Well done to all the seniors this year, and congratulations to everyone for finishing another year at WSU in the CAHNRS family,” Sandmann said.

Emerging Undergraduate Leader in Agricultural or Natural Resource Sciences

This award is presented annually to sophomores who have shown outstanding initiative and leadership in agricultural and natural resource scientific fields.

Winner: Esther Langholt, Animal Sciences Pre-Veterinary Medicine.

Nominees: Hannah Peha, Agricultural Biotechnology; Kyler Keough, Field Crop Management; Bradley Lubeck, Food Science.


Emerging Undergraduate Leader in Human Sciences

Recognizing outstanding students in family and consumer sciences, this award highlights undergraduates who show a balance between academic achievements, leadership and activities.

Winner: Eliesse Jakotich, Human Development

Nominees: Hunter Schueller, Apparel Design; Alison Kessler, Apparel Merchandising; Joseph Ikueze, Economics.

Outstanding Junior in Agriculture and Natural Resource Sciences

This award honors juniors who excel academically, become deeply involved, and show true passion in natural resource and agricultural majors.

Winner: Megan Meharg, Viticulture & Enology

Nominees: Chase Baerlocher, Agricultural Biotechnology; Lacey Biemold, Ag Education; Marina de la Cruz, Organic and Sustainable Agriculture; Ryan James, Fruit and Vegetable Management; Cora Borgens, Landscape, Nursery and Greenhouse Management; Abbi Prins, Animal Sciences, Pre-Veterinary Medicine; Luuvan Hoang, Fermentation Science.

Outstanding Junior in Human Sciences

This award recognizes juniors who have shown initiative in a human science major, provided mentorship to others, and created an excellent learning environment.

Winner: McKenzie Duquaine, Apparel Merchandising

Nominees: Colby Van Dyk, Apparel Design; Zoey Roberts, Economics; Lahra Ahearn, Human Development.

Aggie of the Year

This award recognizes outstanding and determined student leaders in the agricultural sciences. Nominees are chosen by their department for excellence in academics, leadership, and involvement.

Winner: Juliana LeClair, Agriculture and Food Business

Nominees; Megan Gould, Ag and Food Security; Jordan Hummel, Agricultural Education; Nick Schultheis, Field Crop Management; Peter Schultheis, Ag Technology and Production Management; Renee Kemp, Viticulture & Enology; Elaine Wibabara, Agricultural Economics; Rachel Schreck, Food Science; Gabriella Damron, Animal Sciences Pre-Veterinary Medicine.

Family and Consumer Scientist of the Year

The award recognizes the college’s outstanding senior majoring in apparel, merchandising, design and textiles; human development; and economic sciences. These students show growth, passion, and determination.

Winner: Michelle Sikora, Economics.

Nominees: Jansen Garside, Apparel Design; Aryn Vaughan, Human Development.

Superior Club

Each year, the CAHNRS Student Senate honors groups that make CAHNRS a successful and welcoming college, and help students expand their network and build careers.

Winner: Prosser Graduate Student Association. Led by IAREC students, and open to all graduate students on the IAREC campus, PGSA sponsors and supports academic events, workshops, and social activities to benefit the student community at Prosser.

Outstanding Seniors

  • Sydney Almgren, Outstanding Senior in Environmental & Ecosystem Sciences
  • Dylan Baty, Outstanding Senior in Fruit & Vegetable Management (Landscape, Nursery, and Greenhouse Management)
  • Gabriella Damron, Outstanding Senior in Animal Sciences (Pre-Veterinary Medicine/Science)
  • Olivia Davis, Outstanding Senior in Gerontology
  • Dylan DeBlasio, Outstanding Senior in Financial Markets
  • Shannon Edwards, Outstanding Senior in Early Childhood Education
  • Zichen Fan, Outstanding Senior in Business Economics
  • Anthony Garcia, Outstanding Senior in Forest Ecology and Management
  • Natasha Garrison, Outstanding Senior in International Economics & Development
  • Jordan Hummel, Outstanding Senior in Agricultural Education
  • Marina Ikuse, Outstanding Senior in Food Science
  • Renee Kemp, Outstanding Senior in Viticulture & Enology
  • Juliana LeClair, Outstanding Senior in Agriculture & Food Business