CAHNRS faculty elected to Washington State Academy of Sciences

Composite photo of head shots.
John Stark, left, and Juming Tang, center, are the newest CAHNRS faculty named to the Washington State Academy of Sciences. Current member Ron Mittelhammer, right, joins the WSAS board of directors

Two distinguished faculty members of Washington State University’s College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resources Sciences are among eight WSU scientists elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences for 2019.

CAHNRS scientists elected by their peers include:

• John Stark, Director of the Washington Stormwater Center at the WSU Puyallup Research & Extension Center and a professor in WSU’s Department of Entomology and the Center for Reproductive Biology in the College of Veterinary Medicine

• Juming Tang, Regents Professor, Department Chair and Distinguished Chair of Food Engineering in the Department of Biological Systems Engineering.

In addition, Ron Mittelhammer, Regents Professor in the School of Economic Sciences, was one of two WSU faculty elected to the academy’s board of directors.

The WSU faculty are among about 40 new members elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences this year. The academy hosts events to raise awareness of key issues affecting the future of Washington’s people, prosperity and places, and working groups provide unbiased assessments to guide public policy‑making in the state. With the new additions, the academy will have more than 300 members statewide.

Learn about all WSU scientists elected to the academy for 2019 here.