Skip to main content Skip to navigation

WSU Appoints Murray as New Chair of Plant Pathology

PULLMAN, Wash. — Timothy Murray has been named chair of Washington State University’s plant pathology department.

“I am pleased that a scientist and teacher of Tim Murray’s caliber is willing to serve as department chair,” said James Zuiches, dean of the College of Agriculture and Home Economics. “These programs in plant disease protection and management are essential to the success of Washington’s agriculture.”

The appointment is effective today (Wednesday). He succeeds Dennis Gross who is resigning to become chair of plant pathology and microbiology at Texas A&M University.

Murray said he will continue an active research program on small grain diseases and will teach at a reduced level. His research focuses on small grains pathology, primarily in winter wheat, on strawbreaker foot rot (also called eyespot), Cephalosporium stripe and snow mold diseases.

The department has 20 faculty members. They are stationed in Pullman, Prosser, Puyallup, Mount Vernon and Wenatchee. The department has 20 graduate students in master’s and doctorate programs. It doesn’t have undergraduate students.

Murray received his bachelor’s degree in plant science from the University of California, Davis in 1979, his master’s in plant pathology from WSU in 1980 and his doctorate in plant pathology from WSU in 1983 and joined the WSU faculty that same year.

EDITORS: Zuiches may be contacted at (509) 335-4561, Murray at (509) 335-7515. You may download a digital photo of Murray from our Web site.

– 30 –