Skip to main content Skip to navigation

CAHNRS News – April 3, 2009

Posted by | April 3, 2009

Wine Tasting and Undergraduate Creative Research Projects

Come sip wine and check out the CAHNRS Undergraduate Creative Research Projects Saturday, April 4, in the Vogel Plant Biosciences Building

The wine tasting is from 1:30 – 3:30 p.m. in the north lobby and is sponsored by the WSU Viticulture and Enology Club. Tickets will be available at the door.

The undergraduate creative research projects poster presentations are from 2 – 3:30 p.m. on the ground floor. The event is free and open to the public and is sponsored by the CAHNRS Office of Academic Programs.


Kevin Murphy, Crop and Soil Sciences, received a grant titled “Development of Organic Hop Production in the Pacific Northwest” for $123,000 over three years from Western SARE (Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education). He is the principal investigator. Lori Hoagland, Crop and Soil Sciences, and Scot Hulbert, Plant Pathology, are co-PIs.

Naidu Rayapati, WSU virologist at IAREC, was a co-PI of a USAID-funded project led by Virginia Tech that won the International Integrated Pest Management award at the International Integrated Pest Management SymposiumSymposium. The award was the greatest honor presented at the Symposium. Naidu’s work was on the management of tospoviruses on solanaceous crops (tomatoes & peppers). Millions of people in impoverished Asian countries are eating a better diet as a result of Naidu’s work.

Washington State University’s Interior Design students and faculty received numerous awards at the recent Interior Design Educators Council’s annual conference in St. Louis (March 25-28). Junior students competed in the student design competition under the guidance of instructors Leylan Salzer and Meaghan Beever. WSU swept the Pacific West region, and those projects were deemed national finalists.
Sarah Gross, Craig Pfaff and Kelly Strand
Katie Fuller, Jessica Phillips and Weng Hei Au (Billy)
Benni Adams, Jessica Cook and Jessica Jensen
Both Kathleen Ryan and John Turpin were among the 11 finalists (out of over 200 submissions) for Best Paper Presentation. John Turpin won the Best Paper Award for “Exploring Success: Dorothy Draper and the Means-Ends Approach.” Matt Melcher’s “North Idaho Retreat” was selected for exhibition by jury in the Interior Design category. Jo Ann Thompson received a Presidential Award for her efforts in expanding the quality and visibility of the Journal of Interior Design. Meaghan Beever also received a Merit Award for assistance in the transition of the printed Journal of Interior Design to the digital version hosted by Blackwell/Wiley. Finally, Washington State University-Spokane was awarded the first ever Institutional Merit Award for their support of the Journal of Interior Design through continued resource allocations over the past five years.

WSU faculty took home several awards from the annual Pacific Branch of the Entomological Society of America conference in San Diego, California:
Carol Anelli won the Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching.
Doug Walsh won the Distinguished Achievement Award for Extension.
Diana Roberts is the leader of the Western Cereal Leaf Beetle Team, which won the IPM Team Award. The team also includes WSU members Keith Pike, Dave Bragg, and Terry Miller.
Additionally, Doug Walsh was selected to serve as Branch President next year and will be hosting the meeting in Boise next spring.