Skip to main content Skip to navigation

CAHNRS News – July 2

Posted by | July 2, 2010

WSU Extension Printing and Publishing Reorganization

In the context of shrinking budgets, WSU President Floyd is looking for efficiencies throughout the university. For many years, WSU Extension has had its own printing and publishing group, while the rest of the university community has had its materials produced by University Publishing. That changed July 1.

The pre-press operations for projects – editing, design and project management – will remain in WSU Extension and the College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences and will continue to be housed in Cooper Publications building in Pullman. The pre-press staff will be integrated in the CAHNRS/Extension department of Marketing, News, and Educational Communications, which has been renamed CAHNRS/Extension Marketing, News and Educational Communications. For customers, that means no change in the people they’ve been working with or the procedures they have followed to date.

Printing and post-press operations, such as binding and distribution of materials, will now be handled in University Publishing. WSU Extension has reassigned a total of four staff – two printing and two post-press professionals – who moved July 1 to UP. While there will be no immediate savings in personnel, there are considerable efficiencies to be had in the use and purchase of increasingly complex and expensive printing equipment.

The CAHNRS and Extension agreement with University Publishing includes guarantees that both the quality and timeliness of Extension printing projects will be as good as what Extension Publishing and Printing has delivered in the past. It also ensures that the pricing schedule will not change for at least the next year.

More information is available by contacting Linda Fox or Kathy Barnard.

Faculty Senate

The elections for Faculty Senate have been completed. Listed below are the Senators and their contact information. Please feel free to contact any of these individuals, if you have items that you would like discussed. Faculty Senate meets regularly on Thursday afternoons at 3:30.

Senior faculty are encouraged to volunteer for service on Faculty Senate and Presidential Committees. The Faculty Senate web site is at

Philip Wandschneider

Joe Yenish

John Brown

Barbara Rasco

Amit Dhingra

Matt Carroll

Margaret Young

Lee Hadwiger

Joan Ellis

Shannon Neibergs

Arno Bergstrom

Christopher Benedict

Mike Bush

David Bragg

Douglas Stienbarger

Debra Nelson

Economic Sciences

Crop and Soil Sciences


Food Science

Horticulture & Land Arch

Natural Resource Sciences

Human Development

Plant Pathology

AMDT, ID, Extension Admin

Extension Eastern District

Extension Western District

Extension Western District

Extension Southern District

At Large

At Large

Temporary Faculty

Emmett Fiske – Responsibility Change

Emmett Fiske, WSU Extension specialist and professor in the department of Community and Rural Sociology and associate director of the Center for Environmental Research, Education and Outreach (CEREO), will change responsibilities effective August 1, 2010. He will continue his ongoing CEREO and teaching responsibilities and discontinue his Extension responsibilities. Please see WSU Today for a full announcement


The American Phytopathological Society’s Early Career Professionals Committee, Virology Committee, and APS Foundation have announced the selection of four outstanding early-career professionals to speak as part of the 2010 Schroth Faces of the Future Symposium, including Olufemi J. Alab, a post-doc in Naidu Rayapati’s lab at IAREC Prosser. The symposium is scheduled for Tuesday, August 10, 2010, at the APS Annual Meeting in Charlotte, NC. Alab and three others were selected following a formal competition and will be awarded $400 to help support their travel to the meeting. Alab has authored or coauthored seven peer-reviewed full-length journal articles, five disease notes, one research monograph, and a book chapter. He is a member of the Virology and Tropical Plant Pathology Committees of APS.

B.W. “Joe” Poovaiah, regents professor in the department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture, was awarded a $600,000 Accomplishment-Based Renewal (ABR) grant by the National Science Foundation to continue his research on calcium/calmodulin-mediated signaling in plants. This ABR award was initiated by NSF because of his team’s recent outstanding accomplishment of generating three ground-breaking publications in the prestigious journal Nature. His most recent Nature publication was also highlighted in Cell. His cutting edge research on calcium/calmodulin-mediated signaling has garnered invitations to participate in major conferences. On March 3, 2010, Dr. Poovaiah was an invited speaker at the Molecular and Environmental Plant Sciences Symposium at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas. On Aug. 10, 2010, Dr. Poovaiah will be presenting an invited keynote address at the annual meeting of the Plant Growth Regulation Society of America in Portland, Oregon.

An article on perennial grains co-authored by John Reganold and Steve Jones was published in Science magazine. The article is available in PDF format at