Skip to main content Skip to navigation

WSU CAHNRS to Honor 62 Alumni Oct. 27

PULLMAN, Wash. – Washington State University’s College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences will honor 62 distinguished college alumni at the dedication of the CAHNRS Alumni Wall of Honor on Saturday, Oct. 27.

All of the alumni, including 18 who are deceased, previously received WSU’s Alumni Achievement Award. Their photos will be unveiled during the dedication.

“The quality of Washington State University is measured in part by the accomplishments of its graduates,” said Caroline Nilsson Troy, executive director of development for the college. “Those successes inspire our faculty and students.

“We feel it is important for the college to recognize that what these alumni have achieved and how they have made an impact in the world may have had a start in this college.”

The dedication ceremony is scheduled at 11 a.m. in room 409 of Hulbert Hall. Families and friends of the honorees have been invited to the event.

Living graduates who will be honored include Manzoor Ahmad, Lahore, Pakistan; F. Marianne Andrews, Olympia; Frances (Landerholm) Baker, Portland, Ore.; Karen (Winch) Bartz, Pleasant Hill, Mo.; Marc Bates, Pullman; Frederic Blauert, Washtucna; Edward Claplanhoo, Neah Bay; Robert Clower, Columbia, S.C.; Robert “Mac” Crow, Oakesdale; and Melvin Eklund, Lake Forest Park.

Lola (Story) Finch, Pullman; Shaikh Ghazanfar, Moscow, Idaho; Jeff Gordon, Pasco; Trilby (Nelsen) Gustafson, Kennewick; Doris E. Hanson, Belleair, Fla.; Robert Hulbert, Mount Vernon; Gladys Jennings, Mill Creek; Carole (Cooke) Jones, Spokane; W. Keith Kennedy, Ithaca, N.Y.; and Norman Looney, Summerland, B.C.

Duane Marshall, Colbert; Bruce Monroe, Wenatchee; Donald Moos, East Wenatchee; Sid Morrison, Zillah; George Murdock, Pendleton, Ore.; Jeanne (Rounds) Olsen, Medina; William Pruitt, Davis, Calif.; Charles “Jim” Quann, Spokane; Bruno Richter, Port Townsend; Leo Sax, Wenatchee; and M. Virginia Schafer, Seattle.

Norman Scott, Trumansburg, N.Y.; R. Grant Seals, Reno, Nev.; Keith Smith, Vienna, Va.; JoAnne (Spencer) Stewart, Lolo, Mont.; Eugene Prince, Thornton; Alexander Swantz, Clarkston; Mike Thorne, Pendelton, Ore.; Harley Hamilton Tuck, Sr., Post Falls, Idaho; Peter VonSoest, Alpine, N.Y.; L. George Wilson, Raleigh, N.C.; Richard Woods, Kelso; Mike Youngquist, and Jeanne (Peterson) Youngquist, both of Mount Vernon.

A number of alumni will be honored posthumously: George Andrews, Stanley Beck, Kenyon Bement, Grace (Severance) Shugart, Donald Carver, D. Girard Clark, Frank Cleary, Asa Clark, Jack Friel, Roy Hall, Joseph Knott, Thomas Hyslop, Warren Kronstad, Elvin Kulp, William Lehrer, Jr., Stanley Norman, V. Lauren Shelton and Philip Wainscott.

-30 –

Media Contacts