Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Sustainable Small Farming & Ranching Courses this Fall in Washington and Idaho

Learn the latest information about how to start or sustain a small or mid-sized farm. The Sustainable Small Farming and Ranching class, part of the Cultivating Success series by Washington State University, the University of Idaho, and Rural Roots, will be offered in several counties in both states.

Topics include whole-farm planning, ecologically based, diversified production systems, and alternative marketing techniques. Classroom discussion, guest lectures by experienced farmers and agricultural professionals, and field trips to local farm innovators provide insight into the advantages and challenges of small farmers.

“Students will create a whole farm plan they can use to evaluate their goals and resources, and help them to assess what type of farming enterprise is right for them,” said Marcy Ostrom, director of the WSU Small Farms Program. “They leave this class with a network of professional contacts to whom they can turn for advice and support.”

This 12-14 week course combines classroom and on-farm experience to give students lessons in technical aspects of farming along with practical whole-farm management skills. Other topics covered include sustainability concepts, integrated pest and weed management, sustainable livestock and poultry, grazing management, budgeting, equipment and facilities.

The cost of the 12-14 week course ranges from $125 – $300. Scholarships are available to help bring the cost down and college credit or continuing education units are available.

For information on additional course locations or for more details about the Cultivating Success Program see www.cultivatingsuccess.org.

Contact the following local sites to register:

Washington

Clallam County
Curtis Beus
Beusc@wsu.edu
360-417-2379
January 15 start date

Franklin County
Vicki Contini
vcontini@wsu.edu
509-545-3511
September 11 – December 11
Thursdays, 5:30-8:30 pm

King County
Todd Murray
Todd.Murray@metrokc.gov
(206) 205-3121
September 9 – December 11
Tuesdays, 6-9 pm

Kitsap County
Arno Bergstrom
awbergstrom@wsu.edu
360-337-7225
September 17 – December 10 – Poulsbo
September 18 – December 11 – Port Orchard 6:30 -9:00 pm

Mason or Thurston County
Kirsten Workman
kworkman@wsu.edu
(360) 427-9436, ext. 14
November 13, 2008 – February 19, 2009
Thursdays, 6-9 pm

Okanogan County
Norman Suverly
suverly@wsu.edu
509-422-7245
December 3 through February 11, 2008
Wednesdays

Pierce County
Carrie Sikorski
csikors@co.pierce.wa.us
253-798-3276
November 10 – February 11
Monday evenings

San Juan County
Candace Jagel
Candace_Jagel@wsu.edu
(360) 378-4414
Business planning course only
Contact for November start date

Skagit County
Don McMoran
dmcmoran@wsu.edu
360-428-4270, ext. 225
September 3 – November 19, 2008
Wednesdays, 6:00 – 9:00

Snohomish County
Gabrielle Roesch
Gabrielle90@wsu.edu
(425) 357-6017
September 11 – December 11
Thursdays, 6:30- 9:30

Spokane County
Pat Munts
509-477-2173
pmunts@wsu.edu
September 29 through December 15, 2008
Mondays, 6-9 pm

Statewide – online
Marcia Ostrom
mrostrom@wsu.edu
509-663-8181, ext. 263
August 25 – December 10
AFS 416. Academic tuition rates apply
http://online.wsu.edu/future_students/courses.aspx

Idaho

Bannock County
Paula Jones
Paula.Jones@id.usda.gov
(208) 237-4628
Contact for dates/times

Bonner County
Diane Green
greentree@coldreams.com
208-263-8957
October 21 – December 9 and
January 6 – January 27
Contact for dates/times

Canyon County
Mary Rohlfing
morningowl@cableone.net
208-387-0131
September 2 – November 18
Tuesdays, 6:00 – 9:00

Latah County
Cinda Williams
cindaw@uidaho.edu
(208) 883-2267
September 3 – November 19
Wednesdays, 5:30 – 8:30 pm

Lewis County
Ken Hart
khart@uidaho.edu
208-937-2311
October 2008
Contact for dates/times

-30-